Online Auto Insurance: Report Shows Millions Admitted to Driving Drunk in 2010

Posted by on Oct 17, 2011 | 0 comments

Orlando, FL, October 10, 2011 –(– A new study showing that 4 million Americans admitted to driving drunk last year should serve as a wake-up call for scofflaws, according to Online Auto Insurance (OAI), because even those drunken drivers who don’t wind up hurting themselves or others can face serious consequences.

In the Sunshine State, that could mean having to pay more for higher levels of auto insurance Florida motorists are required to carry, in addition to other penalties for anyone convicted of driving under the influence.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention study, about one-third of all fatal vehicle crashes involve an alcohol-impaired driver, and almost 11,000 deaths in 2009 resulted from crashes in which at least one motorist had a blood alcohol concentration of more than .08.


Drunken drivers nationwide face penalties including incarceration and loss of driving privileges. But consequences are more severe in states such as Florida, where state officials require that motorists who are convicted of or plead contest to driving under the influence (DUI) carry higher levels of insurance.

All drivers in the Sunshine State must carry a minimum $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and the same amount in property damage liability. Those who are found guilty of certain traffic violations or who are uninsured must carry greater levels of coverage.

But DUI drivers must be insured for far more, once they are legally allowed to drive again. Policies for those who have been busted for a DUI must provide for at least $350,000 total in liability coverage per accident.

That means a minimum policy would provide up to $300,000 for bodily injury damages caused by a policyholder in an accident ($100,000 per injured person) and $50,000 for property damages caused by the policyholder.

The higher coverage levels must be maintained for three years, after which those with clean driving records can opt for lower levels.

State transportation officials will suspend your driver’s license and registration if you fail to get the required coverage, and violators must pay reinstatement fees of $150 for a first offense, $250 for a second and $500 for any subsequent violation within three years.

Comments are closed.